WeeHuman Courses

All courses include hours of on-demand lessons AND live sessions (repeated monthly, hosted on zoom, schedule below). Access available for a full year! Sign up for a FREE preview of any course by clicking on the Modern Childbirth, Newborn Care, Breastfeeding, or Mind/Body Wellness course icons below.

Parents are saying...

Easy, convenient and comfortable

by Carrie

Easy, convenient and comfortable from my own home.

a human connection

Eric

The WeeHuman courses are planned and presented by instructors who care deeply about children and who really look forward to making a human connection with the class attendees. During the pandemic, it felt like our local hospital system was struggling to catch up in moving their educational resources into an online format; WeeHuman was already there and ready, working with parents-to-be from all over North America with a mix of on-camera sessions and PDF/video format material. They're already standing head and shoulders above a lot of the conventional neonatal/postpartum care education resources.

Nice job

Erika

good tidbits of information. Easy to absorb in bite size pieces. nice job

Very helpful

Melissa

Overall very helpful! Lots of information was covered and it was easy to follow along and understand. The lessons were time efficient and effective in conveying the information across.

Great information for informed choices

Tina

Lots of great information to help you make informed decisions during your birthing journey

Great source of calm information and guidance

Shannen

The Newborn Care class was amazing for me and my husband! Kelly was a great instructor and the class had a solid mix of educational information and practical advice. The blend of live (Zoom) sessions and at your own pace lessons made it easy to fit the class into our increasingly busy schedule. We felt much more confident and prepared for our first baby after this class. Kelly and all the folks at WeeHuman are incredibly responsive to questions in between live sessions. I loved the first class I took so much that I didn’t hesitate to sign up for the Breastfeeding class (which is also great and I would highly recommend). Especially in these uncertain times, WeeHuman has been a great source of calm information and guidance!

helpful video lessons, and links to many resources to explore

Julietta

Kelly at WeeHuman did an excellent job of providing newborn care education for us! The newborn care class included helpful video lessons, and links to many resources to explore; it was easy to use the materials to practice swaddling and other skills on a doll.

More relaxed and prepared now

WeeHuman Parent

I'm very thankful to all of you for getting this program out there, especially with all the covid stuff and classes being cancelled. This was amazing to get creditable information about what to expect for a first time mom! I feel a bit more relaxed and prepared now.

Loved it!

WeeHuman Parent

Loved it! Shannon was a great instructor!

More than anything the support

WeeHuman Parent

i love feeling a part of something. i love that there were other people in my same situation. more then anything the support.

Upcoming Live Sessions

(if you do not see a day/time that works for you, please contact us as early as possible at sessions@weehuman.com to discuss alternatives; private classes can also be scheduled at www.calendly.com/weehuman)

September 2021

Wednesday, Sept 1: Newborn Sleep & Soothing. (Newborn Care, 90 mins). 7 pm EST/6 pm CST/4pm PST.

Saturday, Sept 11: Getting breastfeeding off to a great start! (Breastfeeding, 90 mins). 10am EST/9am CST/7am PST. 

Sunday, Sept 12: Parent Connect: New and Expecting Parents Virtual Meet-Up! (All Programs, 60 mins). 11:30 am EST/10:30 am CST/8:30am PST.

Sunday, Sept 12: Meditation (Mind & Body, 20 mins). 9 pm EST/8 pm CST/6 pm PST.

Saturday, September 18. Newborn Care & Safety. (Newborn Care, 90 mins). 10am EST/9am CST/7am PST.

 

Wednesday, Sept 22. What is labor like? (Modern Childbirth, 90 mins). 8pm EST/7pm CST/5pm PST.

 

Sunday, Sept 26. How to have a more comfortable birth. (Modern Childbirth, 90 mins). 11am EST/10am CST/8am PST.

Sunday, Sept 26: Meditation (Mind & Body, 20 mins). 9 pm EST/8 pm CST/6 pm PST.

 

October 2021

 

Saturday, Oct 2. Birth choices: Interventions and Informed Consent. (Modern Childbirth, 90 mins). 4pm EST/3pm CST/1pm PST

Sunday, Oct 3: Parent Connect: New and Expecting Parents Virtual Meet-Up! (All Programs, 60 mins). 11:30 am EST/10:30 am CST/8:30am PST.

Saturday, Oct 9: Newborn Sleep & Soothing. (Newborn Care, 90 mins). 10am EST/9am CST/7am PST.

Sunday, Oct 10: Meditation (Mind & Body, 20 mins). 9 pm EST/8 pm CST/6 pm PST.

Wednesday, October 14. Newborn Care & Safety. (Newborn Care, 90 mins). 7 pm EST/6 pm CST/4pm PST.

Sunday, Oct 17: Getting breastfeeding off to a great start! (Breastfeeding, 90 mins). 10am EST/9am CST/7am PST. 

Saturday, Oct 23. Starting Solids! (Solides, 90 mins). 10am EST/9am CST/7am PST.

Sunday, Oct 24: Meditation (Mind & Body, 20 mins). 9 pm EST/8 pm CST/6 pm PST.

Saturday, Oct 30: What is labor like? (Modern Childbirth, 90 mins). 11am EST/10am CST/8am PST. 

November 2021

 

Thursday, Nov 4: Birth choices: Interventions and Informed Consent. (Modern Childbirth, 90 mins). 8pm EST/7pm CST/5pm PST.

Sunday, Nov 7: Parent Connect: New and Expecting Parents Virtual Meet-Up! (All Programs, 60 mins). 11:30 am EST/10:30 am CST/8:30am PST.

Saturday, Nov 13. How to have a more comfortable birth. (Modern Childbirth, 90 mins). 11am EST/10am CST/8am PST.

Sunday, Nov 7: Meditation (Mind & Body, 20 mins). 9 pm EST/8 pm CST/6 pm PST.

Sunday, Nov 21: Newborn Sleep & Soothing. (Newborn Care, 90 mins). 10am EST/9am CST/7am PST.

Sunday, Nov 21: Meditation (Mind & Body, 20 mins). 9 pm EST/8 pm CST/6 pm PST.

Saturday, Nov 27: Newborn Care & Safety. (Newborn Care, 90 mins). 10am EST/9am CST/7am PST.

 

Tuesday, Nov 30: Getting breastfeeding off to a great start! (Breastfeeding, 90 mins). 7 pm EST/6 pm CST/4pm PST.

 

December 2021

Sunday, Dec 5: Parent Connect: New and Expecting Parents Virtual Meet-Up! (All Programs, 60 mins). 11:30 am EST/10:30 am CST/8:30am PST.

Sunday, Dec 5: Meditation (Mind & Body, 20 mins). 9 pm EST/8 pm CST/6 pm PST.

Thursday, Dec 9: What is labor like? (Modern Childbirth, 90 mins). 8pm EST/7pm CST/5pm PST.

Sunday, Dec 12: Birth choices: Interventions and Informed Consent. (Modern Childbirth, 90 mins). 4pm EST/3pm CST/1pm PST

Sunday, Dec19: Meditation (Mind & Body, 20 mins). 9 pm EST/8 pm CST/6 pm PST.

Tuesday, Dec 21: How to have a more comfortable birth. (Modern Childbirth, 90 mins). 8pm EST/7pm CST/5pm PST.


Tell me more!

Add me to the mailing list to get the latest updates on classes, community, and support for new and expecting parents.

Instructors

Co-owner & Instructor

Shannon McKenzie

Shannon McKenzie is a childbirth educator, doula, and meditation teacher in the Chicagoland area and has been supporting families in having informed, empowered, and joyful birth experiences for over a decade. She was trained as a doula and childbirth educator by CAPPA, is a certified HypnoBabies® Hypnodoula, is a certified Meditation Instructor, and is also a Registered 200 hr Yoga Teacher. She has three sons (13, 11, and 3) and a ton of pets, and is completing her Doctorate in Education.

Co-owner & Instructor

Kelly Kolb

Kelly Kolb is a certified birth and postpartum doula and childbirth educator supporting families of all kinds through births of all kinds in the Philadelphia area since 2015. She holds certifications through DONA, Stillbirthday, and ICEA, she is a HypnoBabies® Hypnodoula, and has training in VBAC, trauma-informed care, bereavement support, breastfeeding management, massage in labor, postpartum recovery, and more. She loves coming alongside parents as they consider their options, learn how to advocate for them, and emerge as confident parents. She and her husband stay busy parenting their 8-year-old daughter and their two crazy cats.